RSS

Book Review: Walden by Henry David Thoreau

28 Sep

Walden, or Life in the WoodsWalden, or Life in the Woods by Henry David Thoreau
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The first half is written by Thoreau, the accomplished philosopher and soars much above my humble powers of comprehension; the second half is written by Thoreau, the amateur naturalist and swims much below my capacity for interest.

After reading about the influence the book had on Gandhi, I had attempted reading Walden many (roughly four) times before and each time had to give up before the tenth page due to the onrush of new ideas that enveloped me. I put away the book each time with lots of food for thought and always hoped to finish it one day.

Now after finally finishing the book, while I was elated and elevated by the book, I just wish that Thoreau had stuck to telling about the affairs of men and their degraded ways of living and about his alternate views. Maybe even a detailed account of his days and how it affected him would have been fine but when he decided to write whole chapters about how to do bean cultivation and how to measure the depth of a pond with rudimentary methods and theorizing about the reason for the unusual depth of walden and about the habits of wild hens, sadly, I lost interest. I trudged through the last chapters and managed to finish it out of a sense of obligation built up over years of awe about the book.

The concluding chapter, to an extent, rewarded me for my persistence and toil. In this final chapter, he comes back to the real purpose of the book: to drill home a simple idea – “I learned this, at least, by my experiment; that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours. He will put some things behind, will pass an invisible boundary; new, universal, and more liberal laws will begin to establish themselves around and within him; or the old laws will be expanded, and interpreted in his favor in a more liberal sense, and he will live with the license of a higher order of beings.”

This I think was the core philosophy of the book – if you pursue the ideal direction/vision you have of how your life should be, and not how convention dictates it should be, then you will find success and satisfaction on a scale unimaginable through those conventional routes or to those conventional minds.

I will of course be re-reading the book at some point and thankfully I will know which parts to skip without any remorse.

View all my reviews

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2011 in Book Reviews, Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Book Review: Walden by Henry David Thoreau

  1. Julbni

    November 22, 2011 at 15:29

    You’ll find it fantastically tiring to be given indispensable info on now but your issue is individual also perfectly explained. Thanks.

    Before I go, let me thank you for your patience with my English as (I’m persuaded you have become aware this by now,), English is not my principal tongue accordingly I am utilizing Google Translate to shape out how to compose what I truly wish to write .

    Like

     
  2. pozycjonowanie stron

    January 24, 2012 at 08:50

    let’s proceed as well as post even more Relation mouthwash squirt

    Like

     
  3. tom brady jersey

    February 15, 2012 at 12:33

    Amazing website you have here but I had been interested in if you understood of any community forums which cover the same subjects talked about in the following paragraphs? Id enjoy to become a a part of network exactly where I can get responses from other skilled people that share exactly the same curiosity. If you have any kind of recommendations, please let me know. Many thanks!

    Like

     
  4. Jillian ♣

    March 1, 2012 at 16:14

    This is one of my favorite books — and my favorite non-fiction. I read it for the first time last year. (I’m not fishing for comments. Only sharing if you’re interested.)

    I think I happened to pick this book up at the right place in my life. I think if I’d tried it earlier, I’d have struggled and found it rambling and dull. I just happened to be ready for it.

    Cheers! Great blog. 🙂

    Like

     
    • SuperTramP

      March 1, 2012 at 16:26

      I felt the same too! I had been postponing the book for three years before finally going through it and it really was the right time. But then, maybe for classics it is always the ‘right time’?

      Like

       
      • Jillian ♣

        March 1, 2012 at 16:34

        Maybe. I think that the “ideal” time varies, though. 🙂

        Like

         
  5. http://www.greekbond.com

    March 20, 2014 at 00:57

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this
    blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s
    hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.

    Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Internet
    explorer. Superb Blog!

    Like

     
  6. seo Dunstable

    October 13, 2014 at 01:41

    I am really impressed together with your writing abilities
    as well as with the layout for your weblog.
    Is that this a paid theme or did you customize iit your self?
    Either way keep up thee excellent quality writing, it is rare to peeer a nice weblog like
    this one these days..

    Like

     

"Stranger, if you passing meet me and desire to speak to me, why should you not speak to me? And why should I not speak to you?" - Walt Whitman